top of page

Cheatham County Schools Celebrate Resource Officers

SRO Steve Wright with students (Photo: CCSD)

Tuesday, February 15, is School Resource Officer Appreciation Day.

A partnership between the Cheatham County School District and the Cheatham County Sheriff’s Office, paired with the financial support of the Cheatham County Commission, allows for one school resource officer (SRO) in each county school.

"Our SROs are valuable and essential members of our school community, and they deserve our respect and support as they keep our schools and students safe," the district says.

SROs are law enforcement officers with sworn law enforcement authority, trained in school-based policing and crisis response, and assigned to work with schools using community-oriented policing concepts.

In declaring February 15 National School Resource Officer Appreciation Day, the National Association of School Resource Officers (NASRO) encourages schools and communities across the nation to recognize the accomplishments of their school resource officers that day.

The current resource officers in Cheatham County are:

• Ashland City Elementary STEM Academy: Scott Barnes • East Cheatham Elementary School: Steve Wright • Kingston Springs Elementary School: Adam Rayburn • Pegram Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School: Jose Mojica • Pleasant View Elementary School: Tashia Biggs • West Cheatham Elementary School: David Swearingen • Cheatham Middle School: Tony Pierce • Harpeth Middle School: Todd Bell • Sycamore Middle School: Monica Mackin • Cheatham County Central High School: Jesse James • Harpeth High School: Phil Curran • Sycamore High School: James Bertinotti • Riverside Academy: Scott Demonbreun • SRO Supervisor: Mike Havens

bottom of page